Where does ‘Ms Marvel’ fit into the MCU timeline?

Mrs. Marvel is the latest Disney+ show from Marvel Studios, adding a whole new chapter to the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU).

The show introduces Marvel’s first Muslim superhero to the MCU, Kamala Khan, who is played by Iman Vellani.

With so many TV shows now entering the MCU, it might be hard to keep track of where exactly they fit in the franchise timeline.

Here’s everything you need to know about Mrs. Marvel’s placement.

Where does ‘Ms Marvel’ fit into the MCU timeline?

Iman Vellani as Kamala Khan, aka Ms. Marvel, in “Ms. Marvel”, which is set in the MCU approximately between 2024 and 2025.
Marvel Studios 2022. All rights reserved.

Mrs. Marvel follows 16-year-old Khan as she navigates life in high school while dreaming of the possibility of becoming a superhero.

As her nickname suggests, Khan is a special fan of Carol Danvers, aka Captain Marvel (Brie Larson), who was first introduced in her 2019 standalone but has been a hero within the MCU since 1995.

Mrs. Marvel does not take place that early, however, like all Phase 4 Marvel movies and shows, it is set after the events of Avengers: Endgame.

The show’s writer and producer, Sana Amanat, has commented on how long after that? Endgame the show is set, says it was about two years later.

Speaking to The Direct, Amanat said: “So I think at this point we haven’t given an official figure on how many years have passed since Endgame

“I can’t tell you off the top of my head because I would butcher it. I feel like it’s one to two years [after Avengers: Endgame]something like that, but I don’t really remember [specifically]† But we do have that in our timeline.”

Avengers: Endgame saw the titular team of heroes defeat Thanos and bring half of the humanity he killed in The Snap (or The Blip), and at the end of this fight it’s 2023.

This means that Mrs. Marvel will take place in 2024 at the earliest and sometime in 2025 at the latest.

The MCU Phase 4 timeline explained

Mrs. Marvel has a clearer place within the MCU’s timeline compared to moon knight, for instance, because the Oscar Isaac-led show is so disconnected from the rest of the MCU that it’s hard to pinpoint exactly when it was set.

Loki took place completely out of time while WandaVison Set in 2023, shortly after The Blip, Wanda Maximoff (Elizabeth Olsen) is still mourning the loss of Vision and Captain Monica Rambeau (Teyonah Parris) returns after the Avengers defeat Thanos.

The Falcon and Winter Soldier is set in 2024 with Sam Wilson (Anthony Mackie) and Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan) grappling with the loss of their friend Steve Rogers, aka Captain America (Chris Evans), before Wilson takes over the mantle.

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings also takes place in 2024, followed by Spider-Man: No Way Home in November 2024 and hawk eye takes place around Christmas that same year.

The MCU Phase 4 timeline in chronological order:

  • Black Widow – 2016
  • WandaVision – 2023
  • Eternals – November-December 2023
  • The Falcon and Winter Soldier – 2024
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings – 2024
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home – Nov 2024
  • hawk eye – Dec 2024
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness – Late 2024 to early 2025
  • Mrs. Marvel – Between 2024 and 2025
  • Moon Knight – Unconfirmed
  • Loki – No more time

Ms Marvel premieres on Disney+ on Wednesday, June 8.

Leave a Comment