ALICE IN CHAINS Announces ‘Dirt’ 30th Anniversary Box

Columbia Records and Old recordingsthe catalog department of Sony Music Entertainmentwill be a remastered 30th anniversary 2LP 12″ black vinyl edition of ALICE IN CHAINSmilestone album “Soil” on Friday 23 Sept.

Originally released via Columbia Records on September 29, 1992, ALICE IN CHAINS‘ second full-length studio album established the band as formidable frontrunners in the alt-rock music revolution that rolled out of the Pacific Northwest, achieving multi-platinum mainstream success while staying true to an uncompromising underground sound and image. “Soil” was the last ALICE IN CHAINS album to be recorded with the four founders of the Seattle group: Jerry Cantrell (guitar, vocals),Sean Kinney (drums),Mike Starr (bass) and Layne Staley (lead vocals).

walmart will offer customers an exclusive apple red variant of the 2LP 12″ vinyl 30th anniversary edition of “Soil”.

ALICE IN CHAINS will release an exclusive translucent orange variant of the 2LP 12″ vinyl 30th anniversary edition of “Soil” as a D2C offering on the band’s website. The AIC exclusive translucent orange juice from “Soil” will be available as a standalone purchase and as part of the ultimate “Soil”super deluxe package that also includes a resin sculpted girl from the album cover as a vinyl topper and magnet, four show posters, a 24″ square poster with the album cover and band photo, four redesigned “Soil” print album cover, a “Soil” hardcover book with never-before-seen photos, CD with remastered audio and the album’s five 7″ vinyl singles: “Those Bones”, “Down in a Hole”, “Rooster”, “Angry Chair” and “Would?” Each of the singles has been released with a music video, all previously rezzed to HD.

Box contains:

* Box with lid filled with metal shavings. Move chips to create your own dirt design using a magnetic lid figurine
* Resin sleeve figurine fits on top of vinyl records on your record player
* “Soil” for the first time on orange 2LP with remastered audio
* “Soil” on CD with remastered audio
* Five 7″ singles with brand new artwork on different color vinyl: “Those Bones”, “Down in a Hole”, “Rooster”, “Angry Chair” and “Would?”
* 80 pages bound book
* Exclusive “Soil”-inspired art prints from Cody Melick, Victor Melendez, Brent McKeeand Eric Wolfe Sahlsten
* 2-sided fold-out poster
* 8×10 tire photo glossy
* Four reprinted show posters
* Reprinted set list
* “Soil” tour laminate

ALICE IN CHAINS started recording “Soil” in the spring of 1992, again collaborating with producer Dave Jerdenwho helmed their debut studio album, “face lift”in 1990. Laying tracks for “Soil” Bee Recording studio Eldorado in Burbank, California, London Bridge Studio in Seattle, and One on one studios in Los Angeles from April to July 1992, ALICE IN CHAINS surpassed all expectations, creating one of grunge’s foundational albums and the best-selling album of the group’s career.

“Soil” peaked at No. 6 on the Billboard 200 and stayed on the Billboard charts for almost two years. The album has been voted Again! Critic’s Choice Album of the Year for 1992 and October 2011 Guitar World ranked “Soil” as the number 1 guitar album of 1992.

Two years ago, METALLIC drummer Lars Ulrich said about “Soil”: “It’s so inspiring. I love how transparent and courageous the lyrics are, and it’s a cohesive piece of work. It still sounds as raw, transparent, honest and courageous to my ears as ever. I think in the I used to just listen to the music and the riffs and now as I hear the vocals, lyrics and themes, what an incredible record. It just sounds so timely. It literally sounds like this could have been made last week.”

Over the course of his remarkable career, ALICE IN CHAINS has collected several Grammy nominations, sold over 30 million albums worldwide and amassed a diehard international fan base whose members number in the millions. Their discography includes some of the biggest and most important albums in rock history, including the 1992 quadruple platinum certified album “Soil”1994’s Triple Platinum Certified EP “Kitty Flies”which was the first EP in music history to debut at No. 1 on the Billboard Top 200 and 1995’s self-titled double platinum certified “Alice in Chains”which also entered the Billboard Top 200 at number 1. They made a big comeback in 2009 with the critically acclaimed “Black makes way for blue”which reached number 1 on the rock and alternative charts, earned a Grammy nomination, was certified gold and praised by Shameas “a record as powerful as anything the band has done.” The band’s last album, released in 2018, “Rainier Fog”hit number 1 over Billboard ‘s Rock, Alternative and Hard Music charts and number 1 on the iTunes Rock album chart and earned them a Grammy wink for “Best Rock Album”. ALICE IN CHAINS remain one of the most successful and influential American rock bands of all time.

ALICE IN CHAINS just hit the road for a co-headline tour with BREAKING BENJAMINand special guest SHRUB which runs from August 10 to October 8. The band has also recently teamed up withfunko to a Pop! Album Deluxe commemorating the“Soil”anniversary with the four band members.

Leave a Comment